Winners of 2016 Excellence Awards revealed | Smart Highways Magazine: Industry News

Winners of 2016 Excellence Awards revealed

Share this story...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someonePrint this pageBuffer this pagePin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponShare on Tumblr

The winners of the 2016 Highways Magazine Excellence Awards were unveiled at a gala evening at the Radisson Blu Portman in London last night (6 October).

Hundreds of highways professionals turned out for the event, which was hosted by Welsh TV presenter, Huw Edwards.

Full list of winners:


Most Innovative Highway Authority Project/Scheme of the Year

Sponsored by Tripod Crest

A66 Scotch Corner to Hartforth – the 1,000 tonne challenge


Site Safety Initiative Award

Platinum sponsorship Dynniq

Highways England
Managing Fatigue in the Workplace


Road Safety Scheme or Project of the Year

Sponsored by Mac Surfacing

Transport Scotland
A9 Interim Safety Plan


Award for Environmental Sustainability in the Highways Sector

Platinum sponsorship Total Bitumen

M25 J30/A13 Corridor Relieving Congestion Scheme


Road Marking Project of the Year

Sponsored by RSMA

Clearview Intelligence Ltd, Transport Scotland, BEAR Scotland, Edinburgh Napier University, Amey
A720 Sheriffhall Roundabout; Lane Transgression Mitigation with the Intelligent Road Stud


Team of the Year

Sponsored by Skanska

Kier Highways
A591 Reconnecting Cumbria – Area 13 MAC Team


Highway Partnership Award

Sponsored by WJ Group

Transport Scotland
Forth Road Bridge Closure and Re-opening 


Apprentice of the Year Award

Sponsored by National Highway Engineering Academy

Liam Owen                            


Highway Industry Product of the Year

Platinum sponsorship Shell Bitumen

The Dragon Patcher              


Highways Maintenance Efficiency Award

Sponsored by Kier

Tarmac and Walsall Council
Delivering Efficiencies on Walsall’s Roads


Major Project Award

Sponsored by Tarmac

A160 Port of Immingham Improvement


Award for the Best Use of New Technology in the Highways Industry

Sponsored by Jacobs

Dartford Safety Cell


Judges’ Special Merit Award

Sponsored by Mobile Visual Information Systems (MVIS)

Kier Highways
A591 Reconnecting Cumbria – Area 13 MAC Team


No comments yet.