ITS Australia award winners announced | Smart Highways Magazine: Industry News

ITS Australia award winners announced

Share this story...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someonePrint this pageBuffer this pagePin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponShare on Tumblr

ITS Australia has held its annual awards ceremony in Melbourne to, as it says, celebrate the achievements of the nation’s most innovative and advanced transport technologies and the organisations and individuals involved.

Now in their 8th year, and reflecting the growing influence of ITS across transport technology decision making, ITS Australia received a record number of nominations from a wide variety of organisations for this year’s awards.

Brian Negus, immediate past ITS President said ITS in Australia is now established as a significant industry sector, “ITS Australia is internationally recognised as world leading, and brings together Federal, State and Local Governments, multinational corporations, industry sectors, start-ups and research organisations to help shape future transport.

“The rapid rate of technological change and consumer demands for ITS technology not only makes it an exciting time for our industry, but allows it to continue its position as a major employer and economic contributor.

“The industry itself deserves the recognition the Awards bring and congratulations again to the winners.”

ITS Australia Chief Executive Susan Harris added that the 2017 ITS Australia National Awards capped off another strong year for the industry, “Congratulations to our winners and all the nominees. It was a very competitive year and we thank the Judging Panel for their comprehensive review of all the submissions. We were delighted to see more than double last year’s nominations and in particular, it was pleasing there was more recognition of Young Professionals.

“This increased interest is mirrored in all our ITS Australia events with either record or sold out attendances this year. This is in addition to strong representation internationally at the ITS Asia Pacific Forum held in Hong Kong and the 24th ITS World Congress in Montreal.

“The ITS industry is on an upward curve and we look forward to an exciting and productive 2018”.

The awards were attended by The Hon Ben Carroll MP, the country’s Minister for Industry and Employment.

ITS Australia congratulates winners of the 2017 ITS Australia National Awards:

Recipient of the Max Lay Lifetime Achievement Award is Lauchlan McIntosh AMLauchlan McIntosh was President of ITS Australia 1996 to 2002 and a member of the Board from 1994 to 2002. During this time, he led the 8th ITS World Congress, the first in Australia, hosted in Sydney 2001 which attracted more than 3,000 Australian and international delegates.

McIntosh has held many distinguished positions in the transport technology sector and in 2007 was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia. He was also: Executive Director of the Australian Automobile Association 1994-2006; Past Chair of ANCAP Australasia Ltd (holding the position for over 20 years); Appointed a Fellow of the Australasian College of Road Safety 2006; President and Fellow of the Australasian College of Road Safety since 2007; Appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) 2007; Awarded the John Shaw Medal by Roads Australia 2013; Chairman of Global NCAP since September 2017

Industry Award Winner – Cubic Transportation Systems
For the Manly Ferry Contactless Payments Trial: The field trial of contactless transport payments on the Manly to Circular Quay ferry route is the first deployment of this technology in both Australia and the Southern Hemisphere. This enables the traveller to use a contactless credit/debit card to tap on instead of their opal card, with the fare calculation and payment processing taking place automatically within the system.

Government Award Winner – Transport for New South Wales
For the Public Transport Information and Priority System (PTIPS): The Public Transport Information and Priority System (PTIPS) provides real time data feeds for location for public transport – bus, train, light rail and ferry – used by all transport apps. PTIPS is world leading. Transport for NSW is the first and currently only agency globally, which provides real-time passenger numbers for the public travelling on buses.

Automated Vehicle Award Winner – Royal Automobile Club of Western Australia
For Learnings from the RAC Automated Vehicle Trial: RAC’s purposeful AV Trial is the longest running trial of a Level 4 vehicle in the Australasian region. Having completed 1,720 thirty-minute rides, or 6,000kms in autonomous mode, learnings are being documented and shared with industry and government. More than 9,500 people have registered.

The trial allows industry to experience a L4 vehicle in a complex traffic environment while the technology remains largely in development.
The Automated Vehicle Award is sponsored by the Australian and New Zealand Driverless Vehicle Initiative (ADVI)

Research Award Winner – The University of Melbourne
The Australian Integrated Multimodal Ecosystem: The Australian Integrated Multimodal Ecosystem (AIMES) is the world’s largest live city-based ITS test environment. Containing high and low speed roads, freeways, bus, tram, heavy freight and city logistic, high pedestrian and cycle traffic, the AIMES test bed brings together 37 industry, government and academic partners, with Cubic’s Transport Management Platform (TMP) as the main integration hub.

Young Professional Award Winner – Timothy Phillips

Timothy Phillips, Maintenance Engineer at Legacy Way Tunnel, Brisbane, and employed by Egis, has provided innovative engineering solutions to ensure all incorporated intelligent transport systems, implemented in the Tunnel project, work in harmony.

In addition to the Award, ITS Australia will sponsor Timothy to attend next year’s ITS Asia Pacific Forum in Japan, which is expected to attract over 2,000 transportation technology professionals, to network and participate in advanced transport technology demonstrations.

ITS Australia also recognised runner-up Young ITS Professionals, James Donovan, Graduate Engineer at Metro Trains Melbourne and Tao Wen, Research Scientist with Data61 CSIRO for their demonstrated dedication to the industry, and passion for their chosen fields – aspects that are valued and encouraged by ITS Australia.


No comments yet.