ITS America Announces New Officers and Board Members | Smart Highways Magazine: Industry News

ITS America Announces New Officers and Board Members

Share this story...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someonePrint this pageBuffer this pagePin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponShare on Tumblr

The Intelligent Transportation Society of America’s (ITS America) Board of Directors approved the election of three officers and 12 new members.

The ITS America Board is made up of leaders in the intelligent transportation industry, who set policy and direct strategies for the association.

The newly elected board members represent a diverse group of senior-level executives from private companies, public agencies and academia.

“This new group of board members is very forward-thinking and shares our belief that intelligent transportation technology will save lives and improve mobility,” said ITS America President and CEO Shailen Bhatt.  “We are thrilled to have them join us in this critical work.”

New officers

Chair – Malcolm Dougherty, Senior Vice President and Transportation National Practice Lead, Michael Baker International

Malcolm has more than 25 years of transportation experience, including as director of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans).  He has been a long-standing member of the ITS America board.

Vice Chair – Jennifer Cohan, Secretary, Delaware Department of Transportation

Jennifer’s public service career in Delaware spans 27 years, including heading the Department of Motor Vehicles for the eight years prior to her appointment as Secretary.  

Secretary – Steve Dellenback, Vice President, Intelligent Systems Division, Southwest Research Institute (SwRI)

Steve, who holds a Ph.D. in computer science, leads SwRI’s work in intelligent vehicles, robotics and cybersecurity.

New board members – private sector

John Barton, Senior Vice President, HNTB

John brings more than three decades of experience in transportation, serving in leadership roles at the Texas Department of Transportation and Texas A&M University System.

Ed Bradley, Program Manager Product Regulatory Affairs, Safety, Toyota

Ed brings more than 35 years of experience in the automotive industry, including 21 years with Toyota, bringing a focus developing technologies and regulations to support connected and automated vehicle systems.  

Dr. Robert Edelstein, ITS Practice Leader, AECOM

Bob serves as AECOM’s ITS Practice Lead and brings more than 40 years of experience in intelligent transportation with an emphasis on infrastructure planning and projects.

Mick Slattery, CEO, Conduent

Leading Conduent Transportation providing public transportation and mobility solutions, Mick brings nearly three decades of experience in the technology sector.

Laurette Stiles, VP, Strategic Resources, State Farm

Laurette serves as Vice President of Strategic Resources at State Farm and brings more than three decades of experience in the insurance industry, covering a variety of key issues.

Dan Turton, North America Vice President, Public Policy, GM

Dan has has more than 25 years of experience in government affairs, having served in the White House and on Capitol Hill. He is responsible for GM’s North American policy strategy and oversees GM’s relationships with all executive branch and congressional officials.

Desi Ujkashevic, Global Director, Automotive Safety Engineering, Ford Motor Company

Desi brings nearly three decades of experience at Ford Motor Company, including global leadership focusing on safety, sustainability, advanced mobility and new market development.

Jarrett Wendt, Executive Vice President & Head of CityNOW, Panasonic North America

Jarrett brings nearly two decades of leadership in the private sector and currently leads Panasonic’s Smart City initiative, corporate partnerships and the creation Panasonic’s Connected Vehicle business.

New board members – public sector and academia

Kathleen Bower, Senior Vice President, Public Affairs & International Relations, AAA

Kathleen has spent 25 years at AAA and directs its public affairs and government relations efforts to improve mobility and enhance safety for the traveling public.

Jeff Marootian, Director, District Department of Transportation

Jeff has served as Director of the District of Columbia Department of Transportation (DDOT) since early 2017. Prior to joining DDOT, he was part of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s leadership team supporting key initiatives such as the Smart City Challenge and passage of the FAST Act. He also served as the Department’s Chief Sustainability Officer.

Carrie Morton, Deputy Director, MCity

Carrie joined the University of Michigan in 2011 and has worked at the University’s Energy Institute and MCity. Carrie brings extensive experience from the private sector and academia, with a focus on connected and automated vehicles.

Joanna Pinkerton, President & CEO, Central Ohio Transit Authority (COTA)

Joanna brings extensive experience in mobility, cross-sector collaboration and economic development in the transportation industry. Prior to leading COTA, she served in leaderships roles at the Transportation Research Center, the Ohio State Center for Automotive Research, and the Honda-Ohio State Partnership.


No comments yet.